Expand my Community achievements bar.

Replace a field on a custom form with a new one and move the data from the old field to the new field. Can this be done without Fusion? If so, how can it be done?

Level 2

Hello.  So, I have an old field on a custom form called "Review Proofs."  We would like to replace that field with a new field called "Reviewing Proofs."  I need to move all data from the old field to the new field.  Can this be done in text mode versus using fusion?  If so, how do I do it?  I'm not good at text mode whatsoever.

Thank you for your support!

Tracy

11 Replies

Level 8

Your options partly depend on the nature of the data in the existing field, and how many records already contain data in it. I'm also assuming that simply renaming your field's form display name, or re-labeling report column headers to clarify isn't an option here? 

When I've had minimal records that were previously completed, I added the new field to the form and saved. Then I built a report that showed both fields side-by-side, and copy/pasted while my coffee brewed. It's not often feasible but sometimes the easiest solution.

In some instances I've had way too much legacy data for that to work, but the legacy field was also a picklist/radio button style field. In those cases, I did the same as above but then cycled through each item in the legacy drop-down with report filters. Isolate all the records where <Legacy Field> = 'Red', and then made a mass-update on all resulting records to select whatever the corresponding value was in the new picklist. Rinse and repeat for each value in the legacy picklist.

In the really difficult ones, I've had legacy data that was either text or typeaheads where neither option above is practical. In those cases, then I've built a Fusion scenario to copy everything over. 

Level 2

Hi, Katherine.  Thanks so much for your response.  I should've mentioned this:

The old field is a string.

The new field is a numerical value.