Expand my Community achievements bar.

Applications for the 2024 Adobe Target Community Mentorship Program are open! Click to the right to learn more about participating as either an Aspirant, to professionally level up with a new Certification, or as a Mentor, to share your Adobe Target expertise and inspire through your leadership! Submit your application today.
SOLVED

Datalayer value as adobe target audience condition

Level 3

Sorry if this seems an silly question but I'm new to target. I was wondering if we can create custom segment / audience in Target by importing some user account numbers, which aren't tracked in Adobe Analytics. The account numbers are passed to the datalayer once the user is authenticated. So, is it possible to use some account numbers that are only available in the datalayer and trigger a campaign if the condition are met?

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 4

Personally, I don't' think that I would send something as specific as an account number to target.  The reason being, you might have millions of users and account numbers and this could be very cumbersome to manage.  And Target won't be good at managing something so specific.  You could create an audience and within the audience list each account number.  Each line/return is considered an or statement, but again this isn't a good practice and is difficult to manage with something that could have lots of rows.

Target doesn't have a way to hit a database and look up an account number or import data.

Instead, I would create groups that you want to target, and then send the group as an mbox parameter like we mentioned above, and not something as specific as the account number.  So when the user attempts to make a payment and fails, on the fail page, you would add an mbox parameter and make the value a group.  Something like payment=expired credit card.  Or payment=insufficient funds.  Then you can set up an audience to target all of the people to fit that group.