Expand my Community achievements bar.

Learn about Edge Delivery Services in upcoming GEM session
SOLVED

p2p chat (1:1 private msg)

Level 2

Hello,

I am new in this technology. So, I want to know that how come I do a simple chat in between only two user to use p2p concept. Actually I want to make a close of http://www.chatroulette.com . So, the basic concept is any one can join here & radomly will get a peer Id & then they will comunicate on basis of that peer id. I think in lccs "ticket" means peer id. But I also dont know from where I'll get that.

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Former Community Member

Hi Nigel,

The way you explain, i guess it becomes more of a RTMP solution than a p2p solution. Because as per RTMFP, the peer id is suppose to be like the session. so does live cycle provide p2p or is it like RTMP ?

View solution in original post

12 Replies

Former Community Member

Hi,

You can do a Peer To Peer Chat/WhiteBoard using our Player 10.1 swc. Go to our P2PDataMessagingTest Example. Any user when logs in to our service can have the option to send almost any message either through our servers or through P2P.

Once you get yourself set up with player 10.1 swc( you can read our developer guide for any 10.1 LCCS app setup), you have to turn the p2pDataMessaging property of nodeConfiguration to true for any node on which you want to send p2p data with. By default, this property is false and all nodes send data messages through our server. You can do changes to this property using our developer console Ui that shows any node and its NodeConfiguration.