Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

Can a planner assign a portfolio, program and a company to a project?

Level 2

I had one of my planners question why he did not have access to assign a portfolio, program or company to a project. He says he used to be able to and now he can't. As an admin, I was able to assign them when editing the project. I logged in as the planner and the options to assign a portfolio, program and company did not appear. He only had the option to assign a group.

Did this just change recently or was this always this way?

Thanks in advance for any help. I appreciate it!

0694X00000DVmZlQAL.png

John Weiss

Workfront Administrator

Topics

Topics help categorize Community content and increase your ability to discover relevant content.

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 7

Hi John,

I see the overall challenge, it's just a rather odd one. If he couldn't see Portfolio/Programs, then I'd look at it as a security issue with those portfolios/programs themselves, but you're also showing that he can't see Company either. There just aren't that many settings that can DO that as far as I know.

Under the Access Levels in setup - is the box for 'View only companies, groups & teams they belong to' checked for whatever Access Level his account is assigned?

The second culprit is possibly the Layout Template he's assigned. It's possible that in his Layout Template, those fields are turned off so they aren't visible. That's what my test #2 would show you - if he can edit the field in a report, but not see it on the Project screen, then you probably have a Layout problem.

Katherine

View solution in original post

6 Replies

Level 7

Hi John,

Yes, they should absolutely be able to assign those fields. I'm routinely chasing mine for forgetting them. :)

There are a handful of places that something could be changed to result in what you're seeing though, here's a few places to check: