Expand my Community achievements bar.

Join us for our Coffee Break Sweepstakes on July 16th! Come ask your questions or share your use cases on Creative Briefs for a chance to win a piece of Workfront swag!

Counting Function

Level 2
I am fairly new to reporting in WF. I have what I feel like is a very basic question. I feel like I am missing something very simple. I'm trying to figure out how to count things in WF. Specifically I would like a report that returns two columns of data. One column is the project reference number The second column is a count of the number of tasks in the project I know how to get this info by grouping, but I want to generate a report that returns only the two columns when I export the data to an excel file. Matt Strong
8 Replies

Employee Advisor
@Matt Strong If you were to create a Project Report, add a column for Reference Number and then create a new column, switch to text mode and paste the following, that should pull in the record count of tasks: displayname=# of Tasks textmode=true valuefield=totalTaskCount valueformat=HTML If you want to rename the column, just change the line, displayname=, to whatever you would like! If you have any questions, let me know Nichole Vargas Workfront

Level 10

I used your code and it works perfectly, so thanks. I added sort code but it doesn't sort. Is it possible to sort this column? Is there any documentation that mentions "totalTaskCount"? I looked and cannot find any.

displayname=Task Count

textmode=true

valuefield=totalTaskCount

valueformat=HTML

sortOrder=1

sortType=desc

Employee Advisor

@Randy Roberts‚ I don't think our documentation specifically calls out that field, but I did try adding an additional line for querysort=totalTaskCount and that didn't work either.