Expand my Community achievements bar.

Column: Spend by Project by Quarter

Level 10
First, I freely admit to not being a wizard at the financial gymnastics involved in project management at the corporate level. But math and programming I can do, reporting I at least have an intermediate grasp of, I'm learning fast, and I'm a WF Sysadmin, so it's my job to figure this out... I'm tasked building a custom burn report that needs to list among other things: SCOPED BUDGET // Q1 // Q2 // Q3 // Q4 // TOTAL BURN // BALANCE ...where Q1 Spend + Q2 Spend + Q3 Spend + Q4 Spend = Total Burn ...Balance = Scoped Budget - Total Burn Now Scoped Budget is easy, and once I have the spend for each quarter, Burn and Balance are easily calculated columns. I started this as a Project report due to a bunch of other fields required that are not listed above. However, I can't really suss-out how to do "total spend in Q1" where Q1 = a range defined in Preferences under Custom Quarters called "Q1 - FY19". I'm not seeing these constructs in API explorer (how do I access the date range of a custom quarter I've defined?), but maybe I haven't poked around the right places? Nor do I honestly know how to calculate "spend by quarter" except that: It needs to include the dollar amount of timesheet hours logged to the project at the proper rate for that user/project. It needs to include all logged Expenses. It needs to do these calculations without relying on Billing Records...we need more "live, up-to-the-moment" fiscal amounts rather than the periodic aggregates that result from billing records I'd appreciate any help I can get. :-) Kevin Quosig
1 Reply

Level 2