Expand my Community achievements bar.

Setting and accesing Global Variables

Level 1

Hello everybody,

i am pretty new to the LifeCycleDesigner and especially JavaScript. So, bear with me and my and my basic questions, which I am still unable to really understand (even after googling for days).

I am using the designer within SAP and want to create a form for purchase orders. In this form I want to have a global variable, which I can fill from every page and also access the stored data.

As of now I created a Variable in the Form Properties and tried to fill and access it, but without any success.

I know that I have to use “XFA.records<Fieldname>.value” to interact with the variable but with no results so far.

Sorry for the probably easy question, but I am really struggling with this task.

Maybe somebody can post some scrrenshots or sample code.

Thanks a lot!

3 Replies

Level 10

Hi,

the variables you're define under the form properties are read only, since they are hardcoded into the template which can't be modified by a PDF viewer. However, if you only need static data, you can still use them. Given you variable is named "formVar" and contains an array ["Value 1", "Value 2", "Value 3"], you can simply access it via JavaScript. 

var cArray = formVar.value; // returns the content of formVar as string

var aArray = eval(formVar.value); // returns the content of formVar as string and converts it into an a array

Level 1

Hello,

Thanks for the Help but unfortunately i still am unable to solve my Problem.

This is my cuurent Code:

1. Field Saldo which is printed per page (here i also use an Overflow):

data.BODY.scr_Item_Fuss.Uebertrag.scr_UebNETWR::calculate - (JavaScript, both)
var lo_fields = xfa.layout.pageContent(xfa.layout.page(this)-1, "field", 0);
var lv_wert_netwr = 0;
//Addition der Werte vom Feld "NETWR" der aktuellen Seite