Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.
SOLVED

How to convert numbers to text in a form created in LiveCycle Designer?

Level 2

I am relatively new to Livecycle Designer and very much a newbie with JavaScript and FormCalc.  I have created a Conditional Sales Contract form and when the user enters a dollar amount (1548.95) I would like to know how to  auto fill a text field with its text equivalent ( One Thousand Five Hunderd and Fourty-eight dollars and ninety-five cents).  I have found two forums explaining how to do this in Acrobat 8 but nothing in LiveCyle Designer.   Can this be done in LiveCycle and can anyone please help me with the script?

thanks

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 10

Hi Peter,

You could move the WordNum function to the calculate event of the text field (might be a better place for it anyway).

So you would have something like;

WordNum(NumericField2

, 2)

Bruce

----- form1.#subform[1].DollarAmountText::calculate: - (FormCalc, client) ------------------------------

View solution in original post

13 Replies

Level 10

FormCalc has a WordNum function that will do this.  So maybe on the exit event of the dollar amount field you could have;

DollarAmountText

= WordNum($ , 2)

Where DollarAmountText is the field to show the text equivalent. "$" is FormCalc's way of referring to the current field and "2" means monetary value with cents.

Level 2

Thanks for the help, I can see how that FormCalc script works on exiting a field where the dollor number has been entered but what do I need to add to it in a field where the amount has been simply carried forward from a calculated field.  Currently in this number field is:

----- form1.#subform[1].DollarAmount::calculate: - (FormCalc, client) ------------------------------

NumericField1[8]

Correct answer by