Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.

Binding XML file Dynamically

Former Community Member

Can I bind a xml file dynamically to a form? say, bind to a different xml file after user select a value from a drop down list in the form?

how to do it? Thanks.
10 Replies

Former Community Member

LiveCycle uses the XML as a sourcefile for generating the content, it is provided before generation meaning I seriously doubt your goal is achievable, yet I'm no expert in LiveCycle myself...

Former Community Member

Is the intention to re-populate the existing PDF form with a different XML instance?

Former Community Member

thanks for the reply.

what i trying to do it is to implement a form with multi language.

so, when a user select a language from a drop down list then labels and captions bind to a correct xml file.

or please advise the best way to implement a form with multi language.

thanks.

Former Community Member

I think it's best to create different XPD files for each language and add an XML tag <language>countryCode</language> to your XML dataset and XSD file. this way you could tell the workbench to use a different xpd file for generating the PDF file.

Anyway if you want to load an XML file from your local filesystem you should check out this URL: http://www.c-point.com/JavaScript/articles/file_access_with_JavaScript.htm it shows you how to read & write files using javascript.

The problem you'll be facing is editing the binding and reading + validating the given XML file. Especially validating the XML vs the XSD file used in the designer will probably cause a few errors, yet this is highly recommended in order to make sure you're not modifying your PDF with the wrong (or even malicious) data.