Expand my Community achievements bar.

Binding Drop Down Lists

Level 2

Hello,

I am trying to figure out how i can bind drop down lists. I want it so if you choose a certain selection in drop down list 1, then you are only able to pick a certain selection out of drop down 2. So basically each selection in drop down 1 will give you different options to select in drop down 2. Sorry if i made that really confusing. Thanks

-Aaron-

6 Replies

Level 10

Hi,

There are lots of examples for this, some dealing with states/provences. Check out John Brinkman's blog (Populating List Boxes). Also this thread touched on dropdowns as well (Re: Using submit by email - possible to auto email sender?); method 2 is what you are looking for.

Lastly if you are including bound values in your dropdown then this example shows how to access the display value and the bound value (Re: is it possible to get the key/value of the dropdown?).

Good luck,

Niall

Level 2

ok i

im pretty new to this, i tried to follow Johns code but it got a little confusing becuase in my first drop down i have 9 different selections each which need to populate the second drop down with its own set of selections. So the second drop down has 87 possible choices that needs to go in it. So i guess i am just a little confused on where to start. attched is the excel file with all the data in it. the bold are what goes in the first category and the unbolds are the selections per category. I am not asking someone to do this for me but i would greatly appriciate it if someone could perhaps provide some code to where i can fill in all my data or just get me on the right track that would be sweet. Thanks

Level 10

Hi,

Here is a mock-up version of the spreadsheet.

The first dropdown has the nine categories set in the Object / Field tab. Also have a look in the Object / Binding tab as there are values specified for each of the nine categories. These will be used later in the script.