Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

User Groups limited to specific DAM folders

Level 2

I am new to user admin in AEM as a CS and have a request to create user groups that can only see a specific project in the DAM. Right now we are working with three project folders for testing purposes, but the final work will include up to 75 or more project folders.

My DAM top level folders:

• /content/dam/projectX/...
  • /content/dam/projectY/...
  • /content/dam/projectZ/...

I need to have a user group that can read /projectX but should not even be able to see the other project folders due to client confidentiality. Additionally, there will be users that have access to more than one project, but not all projects so they might need to see X and Z, but not Y for example.

I have created a user group with the path /content/dam/projectX given "jcr:read" access, but when I login with a user in that group it still sees /projectY and /projectZ. I even tried setting the read access on a lower subfolder inside of /projectX but the user can still see the entire DAM folder structure with the other projects visible.

I feel like using denies wouldn't help because when a user is in two groups (X and Z) they would block/deny each other?

Any help would be appreciated, thanks!!

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 3

Hello @Kate_Sumbler ,

To provide access to specific folder to specific user groups, please try the following

1. Create a User group (e.g. group-projectx)
  2. Navigate to permissions page (http://localhost:4502/security/permissions.html) and add the ACE's as below

achennapragada_1-1659573953877.png

Using the above approach users will have access to specific folders only( in above case : content/dam/projectx) and will not have access to any other folders or any new folders that will be created in DAM as we are not denying other folders and explicitly giving permissions to specific folder