Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.
SOLVED

Order of user group permissions in AEM Assets

Level 2

I am new to User Admin and am setting up some new usergroups. I have seen references in the documentation that you can "nest" groups to give a baseline set of permissions.

My question is about what order AEM goes through the permissions. If I create a new custom user group, and make it a member of DAM Users, and then make some more restrictive permissions in my custom group will those supersede the ones DAM Users grants?

Example: Custom group would only be allowed to access specific folders under /dam. DAM Users grants access to the entire /dam. Would a user in my custom group still be limited to only the groups the custom groups allows or would DAM User take precedent?

Thanks!

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 5

User and group permissions can be pretty confusing when you start to think about numerous possible use cases.

For the example use case you stated, your custom group users may or may not be able to access those specific restricted DAM folders. It depends on the order in which the permissions were applied.

Example 1:

• There's a group: 'DAM-Users'
    • It has allow access to all DAM folders
  • Created a new custom group: 'Restricted-DAM-Users'
    • We set deny access to 'My Assets' folder in DAM
  • Created a user: 'dam-user'
    • We make this user member of both groups: 'DAM-Users' & 'Restricted-DAM-Users'

What is the expected final permission for the 'dam-user' on DAM folder 'My Assets'?

-> In this case, the user will not be able to access the 'My Assets' folder.

Example 2 (in continuation)

But now,

• If I create another new user group, say, 'Lenient-DAM-Users'
    • Set allow access to 'My Assets' folder