Expand my Community achievements bar.

Join us for the next Community Q&A Coffee Break on Tuesday April 23, 2024 with Eric Matisoff, Principal Evangelist, Analytics & Data Science, who will join us to discuss all the big news and announcements from Summit 2024!

Creating a segment based on TimeStamp UTC

Level 2

Hey folks, very much a NOOB here, and a little lost. I have a Prop where I stick the TimeStamp converted to Universal Time code (UTC) of the hit into. So if I were to say "sort" the data set on this value, I can see the history of when all the users were doing their thing. What I am trying to do now, is set up a segment that will show me how many users have recorded data within the same 5 minute time frame. From there I just need either the Adobe Visitor ID count, or from another prop, the SessionID count. The intent is to see how many different users have data points recorded for the 5 minute increment, over the course of a day, which hopefully gets me to a week. 

Right now I am doing this from an exported Data Warehouse report of every hit, with its TimeStamp UTC, Session ID, and Visitor ID. I have an elaborate set of Excel Macros to sort the data by timestamp, look at the five minute increment, tag all the unique Session IDs with a "one", then do it again for the next five minute increment, repeat until the week is over. The report takes about 20 minutes to process, and has to be fired of manually to import the Data Warehouse Data sent via email. I do not have the option of saving to an FTP server due to company security. 

Is there any way to create a Segment or Calculated Metric that could do this? Or some kind of Segment that can tell me for a five minute timeframe, here are all the Visits that are active? Thanks in advance. 

9 Replies

Community Advisor

Unfortunately, both props and eVars will store the timestamp as text.. plus you need to look at each rolling period, which Workspace isn't really equipped for...