Sign in to Community
Sign in to view all badges
Expand my Community achievements bar.
Would be great if there's an option to set it as read-only when sharing a workspace with others. Analysis workspace is great to create dashboard, but currently there's no way to set it as read-only for someone when sharing.
I'm not sure I want just a 'read only' option but I would like a much greater level of control e.g. really granular curation options
Having a read only option serve users with no analytics background yet wanting instant result whenever, wherever they need it.
In organization where you have centralized analytic team with responsiblity from putting in place proper tracking codes and the analytics while you also have multiple business units who wants to keep a close watch on performance (hourly, daily, weekly etc), the dashboard feature on the wokspace with the subset of data maybe be ideal to limit access of information that are only business unit specific. However, business users may not have the analytic capability and/or background knowledge on how the tracking code were put in place and thus, having them play with the data could result in a biased or even incorrect view of results.
Thus, I do think that the "read only" option would have its market.
Agree - this would be very useful
jman wrote:Would be great if there's an option to set it as read-only when sharing a workspace with others. Analysis workspace is great to create dashboard, but currently there's no way to set it as read-only for someone when sharing.
I would like to have it 'read-only', except for changing the reporting period.
Thanks everyone for the comments, and please keep them coming! We agree that this is pretty important.
In a perfect world, having one read-only option that locks down the date range *and* one that allows date range modification would be great. If I had to pick, I'd go for totally locked down first, since I have multiple reports that wouldn't handle random date range changes well.
Agreed - this is vital. Yesterday I shared a project with a team member to highlight a tracking issue, and in trying to show me something in return he deleted the rest of my dashboard and accidentally saved over the top. This is now unrecoverable. A read-only option is critical to keep work safe when sharing projects, especially when whole teams of business users are sharing a results dashboard.
I'm going to move this to Under Review as we are actively designing a potential solution to this request. I cannot offer an ETA at this time, however.
I would love to be able to set Workspace Projects to read only!
@Simon_Pilkowski: Noted, it's still something we are actively pursuing!
You must be a registered user to add a comment. If you've already registered, sign in. Otherwise, register and sign in.