Expand my Community achievements bar.

Issues vs. Tasks - difference in functionality?

Level 2
I am new to WorkFront. I recently noticed that one of my team members is creating Issues instead of Tasks. I have coached them to convert Issues to Tasks going forward. I understand the difference from a process perspective, but i am sure they have different functionality. I was unable to find anything in the training or documentation that discussed this topic. So, what would be the challenges/negative impacts of managing Issues instead of Tasks? Trying to decide if I need to convert ~ 100 issues to tasks or can I get by for now? Thanks Ian Ian Clem New Benefits
13 Replies

Level 10
We use Issues to track 'unplanned work'. vs 'planned work' in tasks. It may make reporting a bit more complex - ie, if you're doing a task report the issues won't show. Katherine Haven, PMP VP, Director, Business Technologies - PMO FCB

Level 8
Issues don't use a timeline in the same way that tasks do. You can have 10 issues that don't depend on each other, but with tasks you can have 10 tasks that need to be performed in a certain order and might depend on each other. So it depends on what the issue/task is actually being used for. Do your ~100 issues all lead to the same goal, or do they each have their own little life cycle. If they're all related and lead to the same end result, it would probably make more sense to use tasks. Kirsten Heikkinen Trek Bicycle Corporation

Level 10
Definitely what Kathrine & Kirsten said. I usually explain the differences to our folks as they said. The I add the phrase: They are virtually the same in technical functionality with the following exceptions. An Issue can't have: Predecessors Subtasks And there are 4 types of Issues – and this where they start to glaze over �� .

Level 6