Expand my Community achievements bar.

The Community Advisors application is now OPEN for the second class of 2024. Apply to become a part of this exclusive program!

Gasping task durations and constraints

Level 2
I am still quite a newbie here with Workfront but I wanted to point out a concept that many new users (including project managers) are having a hard time grasping. That is the simple, but all important, task. Let's just take a newbie new, I feel like sometimes this is their experience: 1. Okay I need to add 4 tasks on this new project. Clicks on Add Task, puts in the description and done. Easily adds 3 other tasks below that - boom! (mood: excited) Task 1 - Gather specs info | 1 Days | 0 Hours | Start On 2/6/17 | Due On 2/6/17 Task 2 - Draft specs doc | 1 Days | 0 Hours | Start On 2/6/17 | Due On 2/6/17 Task 3 - Get specs feedback | 1 Days | 0 Hours | Start On 2/6/17 | Due On 2/6/17 Task 4 - Finalize specs doc | 1 Days | 0 Hours | Start On 2/6/17 | Due On 2/6/17 (all tasks are default Calculated Assignment & As Soon As Possible) 2. Neat it auto calculated the end date! But this will take longer than 1 day so I better add Hrs to each task. Each will take about 4 Hrs so I'll add to all 4 tasks. (mood: excited) All Tasks 1-4 | 1 Days | 4 Hours | Start On 2/6/17 | Due On 2/6/17 Okay I refreshed and it still only says it will take 1 Day even though I have 16 hours of work in Hrs. (mood: confused ) > Often new users don't understand if each task duration is 1 day (meaning 4 days total) or if they all take 1 day total (impossible when think about 4 tasks x 4 hours) 3. I'll just try and just change the due date to what my deadline is for Task 3 (2/8/17). Oh that didn't work! (mood: worried). Why did it change the date back and give this error: "[task] has a constraint date of 2/8/17, which is after the completion date of the 2/6/17 planned completion. Please adjust the date accordingly." 4. It seems like that error says I need to change the completion date to aft