Expand my Community achievements bar.

Do you have questions about the migration to Adobe Business Platform? Come join our upcoming coffee break and ask away!
SOLVED

Display a specific task's start date in a task report column

Level 2

I received a request to pull the planned start date of a task on our templates called "Archiving" into a column on one of our task reports. I am fairly new to Workfront and imagine that the options are either a bit of text mode on the report or a calculated field on our current project custom form that simply displays the task's start date (which I can then easily add to the report), but don't actually know if these options are possible and if so how to implement. Please advise! Thanks in advance  

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Community Advisor

hi Katie, you should read up on collections.  

https://experienceleague.adobe.com/docs/workfront/using/reporting/reports/text-mode/reference-collec... 

Understanding the concept of "collections" is pretty critical to your working knowledge of workfront. At its simplest, this means understanding that a project can contain more than one task, issue, document, project user, and so on (i.e. a collection of tasks, issues and so on). And it means understanding that if you are referencing (looking for answers in) a collection of some sort, certain things will either not work, or need a little finagling.

Calculated fields are one place where referencing collections won't work. So, you won't be able to create a calculated field where the calculation references a collection of tasks and then pulls out your Archive task date. So it's imperative that you understand how to reference a collection from a report -- this will make your reporting more flexible.

With that said, here is some sample textmode below.

displayname=Archive Date
listdelimiter=<p>
listmethod=nested(project.tasks).lists
textmode=true
type=iterate