Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

Best practice? Managing Projects with Multiple Go Live Milestones?

Level 7

As a system admin, I have been receiving queries from project managers regarding projects that have multiple Go Live milestone dates. For instance, in an integration deployment project, there may be different Go Live dates based on the region. For example: Go Live in UK in Jan, Go Live in US in Feb, Go Live in JPN in Mar etc.

However, a project milestone path typically has only one milestone (example only 1 Go Live), which is confusing when PMs want to mark multiple Go Lives.

I am curious to know how you handle such situations in your organization. Do you create additional milestones (example: Go Live 1, Go Live 2 etc), or do you have a workaround? Because the number is not fixed, it's really hard to say. Any insights or best practices that you have implemented would be greatly appreciated.

Milestones in our instance:

_Manish_Singh_2-1683124947610.png

Topics

Topics help categorize Community content and increase your ability to discover relevant content.

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 6

Hello - 

We have a similar need because our projects can have multiple phases. Generally, our goal has been to have a single project represent a set of work sold - meaning we could have multiple deliveries/go-lives as part of that.

I've been hesitant to trust a field that a user could edit and mistype a key word.  Therefore, we have a custom field called "task - event" that we use to tag key tasks as an attribute. The list includes items such as: approval, start of build, and go-live.

We're then able to use this attribute to find the tasks for reports, automations, and integrations with other systems. We also use this as a tag for Fusion to identify project level attributes like:

• first go-live
  • last go-live
  • next go-live
  • progress of go-lives

View solution in original post

6 Replies

Level 5