Expand my Community achievements bar.

Do you have questions about the migration to Adobe Business Platform? Come join our upcoming coffee break and ask away!

Do global administrators use text mode - do you think that the Workfront product relies too strongly on text mode?

Level 7

I have been a global Workfront admin for 7 years.  I am not very familiar with text mode, I have cobbled together a couple of things that work with a combination of cut / paste and trial and error.

Do you feel that it is fair for Adobe to lock away so much power exclusively behind text mode?  It is impossible to report on elements more than '3 hops' from the origin object, so in order to build such a report you have to use text mode.  This is just one singular example, there are many other ways to use text mode to do things.

From my perspective, I wish the Workfront tool was more developed so that we don't have to rely on text mode reporting for the truly advanced features.  My previous job experience in graphic design, printing, prepress, etc is because I hate writing code.

I do not have enough time or inclination to learn all of the various API calls, object limits, syntaxes, etc - I have another system to manage in addition to Workfront.  I feel like Adobe is asking too much here.

The only thing we can do is sit here until the product is developed enough to not so heavily rely on text mode?  The concept of sharing actionable Workfront product ideas with Adobe is in the process of being rebuilt.  I am not sure what they were even thinking, it's just a firehose stream of ideas with no semblance of priority of organization.  I honestly saw this coming years ago, how are they going to effectively limit it or improve idea submissions in any meaningful way?  I am very skeptical.

Am I completely off base, please let me know what you think.

6 Replies

Level 10