Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

DTM attributes versus URL parameters

Level 1

Hi,

We are starting to implement DTM in our company's website as well as integrating it with Adobe Analytics as well as other 2rd party tracking tags such as Webtrends; As a developer I have very little knowledge of how the information is used, but I have serious concerns about something we have been tasked to do:

we are adding two generic attributes data-dtm-id and data-dtm-data to every link on site, but we are also adding a parameter to each of those URLs making it someting like this:

<a data-dtm-id="foo" data-dtm-data"bar" href="index.html?id=foo_bar">...</a>

This doesn't make any sense to me, since the information is completely redundant. Am I missing something here? Are there any circumstances in which the url parameter is used and not the attributes?

Thanks,

E

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 10

Hi E,

It sounds like you are trying to implement a type of data layer. DTM doesn't require any specific ID or Data elements to be added to your site. Having a data layer makes retrieving items from the page for insertion into marketing pixels a lot easier, but it's not required. 

If you want to see how DTM works, we've got some great videos on our YouTube channel. There is a DTM playlist with a series of DTM basics videos that are around 10 min long. Specifically, I'd take a look at the data elements, page load rules, and event/direct call rules videos.

Thanks,

View solution in original post

2 Replies

Correct answer by
Level 10

Hi E,

It sounds like you are trying to implement a type of data layer. DTM doesn't require any specific ID or Data elements to be added to your site. Having a data layer makes retrieving items from the page for insertion into marketing pixels a lot easier, but it's not required.