Expand my Community achievements bar.

Applications for the 2024 Adobe Target Community Mentorship Program are open! Click to the right to learn more about participating as either an Aspirant, to professionally level up with a new Certification, or as a Mentor, to share your Adobe Target expertise and inspire through your leadership! Submit your application today.

How to debug (view what's being logged) in Category Affinity

Level 3

I'm getting started with Category Affinity using Launch, and I think I've got it set up correctly based on the documentation I've found. 

However, I'm not finding a way to validate that categories are being captured properly, view what my visitor ID category affinity is, etc.

I've looked at the Target and Network tabs of the Adobe Experience Cloud debugger, as well as the Console and Network tabs of my browser DevTools, but I'm not finding any way to get visibility into what's being tracked. 

Please note: I'm not a web developer so the direction of "You can use user.categoryAffinities[] in a profile script to return an array of the affinities that a visitor has populated." found here isn't something that I know what to do with.  I'm not trying to get this displayed on a page; I'm trying to make sure these values are being tracked as expected. 

Thanks much!

4 Replies

Level 10

Hey Matt,

To make sure that values get tracked (captured on the page), you just need to debug the Target mbox call. You may want to use Adobe debugger or browser developer tools (network tab). Just check that the parameter categoryId is set with the right value(s).

The rest is the backend algorithm that sets weights to each value as per the documentation you mentioned.

Level 3

Thank you for the response.

I've been looking through the Adobe Debugger and haven't seen anything related to Category Affinity being captured there.