Expand my Community achievements bar.

XML Import

Level 2

Hello,

Here's my issue. I have associates in other locations who are sending XML data from a LC pdf form to my email server. I am then importing the data back into my dynamic PDF. Both PDF's are identical, but some of my data populates into the wrong fields.

I am using Thom Parker's "Programming List and Combo fields in LiveCycle". Perhaps this is functioning into the challenge.

I am a newb. Take it easy on me.

Joe

6 Replies

Level 10

Hi,

Only comment would be that the pages are not named. This may lead to your problems.

A quick look and the objects are names and there does not appear to be multiple objects with the same name identified by the square brackets, eg textfield1[0], textfield1[1]. Also the subforms appear to be named.

The objects and subforms have a "normal" binding in the Object/Binding tab, as would be required.

So I would try giving the pages untitled subform (page2) names like page2.

Good luck,

Niall

Level 2

Thanks Naill for the quick response. I gave your suggestion a try, but I still get the "Price" showing up under the "PartList" when I import the XML back into the form. Everything else formats correctly.

Joe

Level 10

Hi Joe,

I think that it may have something to do with the 2-dimensional array in  the Example1 script object.

I don't think that you need this in the initialise event of the Price, as this is set from the PartsList dropdown:

Example1.SetPriceValue();

It looks like event though the PDF is displaying / saving the selected item in the dropdown; the export xml is assigning the boundItem to the PartsList object as well as the Price. Here is an extract from the xml:

<OrderItems>

<Assembly>2</Assembly>

<PartList>CPM     </PartList>

<TargetStartDate>2009-11-04</TargetStartDate>

<TargetEndDate>2009-11-04</TargetEndDate>

<Quantity>10</Quantity>

<Price>CPM     </Price>

<Rate>10.00000000</Rate>

<Total>$0.10</Total>