Expand my Community achievements bar.

Using *.EPS Image Files

Former Community Member

Hey everybody

I'm relatively new to Designer so forgive my ignorance

I recently upgraded to Designer ES 8.2 but I am having some MAJOR problems with EPS files for our company logo etc.

I'm creating some documents with images/text/text fields that are used by our intranet system to automatically generate invoices/quotations etc based on what information the user inputs into the system.

I was using an earlier version of designer which forced me to convert our logo to jpeg but the quality was pretty bad no matter what I tried. I was pretty happy when we upgraded to 8.2 because it supported EPS images, however I just can't get them to work!

When I try to import an EPS image file into the document, I either get the 'broken' image or, when it does work, the quality is really quite bad. If I import the same file into InDesign it looks perfect, but Designer just doesn't want to play ball. If I could, I'd just use InDesign all the way, but I can't figure out how to use text fields that can be exported to PDF for later manipulation by my C# code (but that's another problem for another thread).

Anyway, is there anyway I can use the EPS images in Designer and still make them look sharp, clear and perfect? This is really starting to bug me.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

6 Replies

Level 10

Hi,

I have not had much success with EPS formats either, so I generally stick to PNG or JPEG formats. EPS have generally ended up very pixilated.

Using Photoshop (or Illustrator. or InDesign) you should be able to export the EPS logo to a medium/high resolution in PNG/JPEG. Then use this in LC.

Hope you get a resolution,

N.

Former Community Member

Hi Niall

Yeah I've tried doing that. It "works" but the quality of the PNG, JPG, BMP (whatever I try) is never as good as the original EPS file.