Expand my Community achievements bar.

Learn about Edge Delivery Services in upcoming GEM session

Trying to calculate sum of column values in an add/delete a row table

Level 1

I am very new to live cycle and am learning as I go, basically web searching for help and trial and error (lots!).  I am trying to figure out what code to use in each of the 8 columns of a table I have in order to sum each columns' user entered value.  The table has a header row, and then row 1 has subform with a "+" and a "-" button to add and remove the row.  The tabel functions for adding a row and removing a row (even a specific row) are working fine.   I do not need to sum each row.  I need to calculate a sum at the bottom of 8 of the columns, and they are all numeric field objects.  From what I can find, I need to add a Row2 to the table that will be my totals row, but I don't know what to do with each cell for that row for the 8 columns I need to individually calculate the totals for.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

6 Replies

Level 10

You can use the asterisk accessor to address multiple instances of a repeatable object, such as a table row.

Given your row contains a field named "total", you can add a footer row with a calculation script to summarize the values the "total" field in all instances of the row. 

$ = Sum(row[*].total)

Level 1
I must not be doing something right because I keep getting an error.

Level 10

Make sure you've selected FormCalc not JavaScript as scripting language.

radzmar_0-1584694087988.png

Level 1

I did that, but I still have something wrong. This is the error I get:

ktnewk02_0-1584748224258.png

This is my hierarchy:

ktnewk02_4-1584749625692.png