Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.
SOLVED

Trying to alter drop down menu

Level 2

I am creating a form that uses a lot of drop down menus and I am trying to have the drop down show the descriptions and have the box actually populated with a part number instead of description. I am not against XML coding if needed I am new to it but have played around a little bit. Any ideas or direction would be much appreciated thanks.

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 7

Yes. Put the descriptions in the drop down menu and then specify values in the binding tab. In the exit event for the drop down menu put the code (in formcalc):

if ($.rawValue == 1) then

$.formattedValue = "109323" // put whatever the part number is in here

elseif ($.rawValue == 2) then

$.formattedValue = "109324" // etc

endif

the rawValue is the value of the option the person has chosen in the menu and the formattedValue is what the box will show once the exit event has executed.

View solution in original post

6 Replies

Level 10

You can have a display value and selected value for the drodpdowns. In the object properties, and in Field tab, you can specify the display values for the dropdown. In the Binding tab, you can specify the values for each value. This way when a user selects an option from the dropdown, the value will be passed instead of description in the submitted XML.

Thanks

Srini

Level 2

Thank you Srini