Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

Trouble with drop-down list related calculations

Level 2

Hello all,

I have been working on a leave form using Adobe LiveCycle Design ES2 for more than three weeks now. I am new to my computer applications programming job, and I have not had much real world experience with Javascript. My problem is this I have two drop-down lists in two separate subforms. I have a separate box for the users to insert the number of hours of leave they want to take next to each drop-down list. At the bottom of the form, I have a subform that I want to track the total number of hours for the leave type the users have selected in the drop-down lists.

I have tried multiple methods from JavaScript to FormCalc, but I have been unsuccessful at finding a way to instruct each of my leave category totals fields to reflect the value in the hours fields (that is...if the leave type list specifies its leave type). I am exhausted of scouring the Internet and books to see if I can find a viable solution to this matter. I have another issue to discuss with this same form in regard to the calculations of my add instances, but it'll have to wait until I am able to get this matter rectified. Can anyone help me?

Leave_Slip rough.png

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 7

The script needed for each total field calculation.

The only thing different between them is the "6" is changed for each category (i.e. personal leave is "0"). Select FormCalc in script editor. This definitely works in your form--guaranteed!.

var oDays    = _IndvSubForm.count

var totHrs    = 0

for i = 1 upto oDays  do

if (IndvSubForm[i-1].DataDropDownList2 == "6")then

totHrs = totHrs + IndvSubForm[i-1].TotalHours2

continue

else

continue

endif

endfor

$ = totHrs

good luck

stephen

View solution in original post

14 Replies

Level 7

Hi,

I am assuming that the the AddDay button adds an instance of a subForm--lets call that subFormDay, OK?