Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.

Populate PDF template with data from another form

Level 4

Hi all, it's been a while since I've been here. I'm not a LC pro by any stretch, but I've been working on a personal project which I hope will someday result in a small business. The idea is simple: a client fills out a custom form in Acrobat Reader which I've created in LC Designer. Upon completion, they email the pdf (or XDF, or XML, or E4X or whatever might be possible, I'm not even sure!) back to my website.

On my end... and this is hopefully automated... the data would be injected into a template PDF the client needs. This would then be sent back via email for them to print.

It's been over a year since I worked on this. Both the front end forms and the pdf templates are built, but the interaction between receiving the client data and populating the template form never got worked out.

Could anyone provide me with a clue as to what this workflow might look like?

Just to be clear, this application would be waaay too small to even think about going the Enterprise route. I'm "thinking" the automation part of it would be handled by some custom PHP coding, but that's another story.

Thanks!

Graham Calhoun

4 Replies

Level 2

Hi Graham,

You will need to get LiveCycle Forms ES (Server component) to extract the data in case you receive the whole PDF back. However, if you get the XML you can then have any back end (JAVA/CF/PHP) code that receives the XML. You can then use open-source PDF creation tools to create the desired PDF for the client. LiveCycle Forms can perform this task but comes at a hefty price. So it will depend on your business model which way you go.

One thing to remember - there is no PDF like Adobe PDF! Adobe PDF is way more advanced than any other PDF technology out there.