Expand my Community achievements bar.

Need help trying to create a form

Level 2

Ok, first, I am sorry if this is the wrong area to ask this question but this seems to be as close to the area I can find.  I'm also pretty new at using Livecycle, so I don't know near half of what it can do.

I've been tasked with trying to create a form that is prefilled out with a standard wording (it is an Award Citation for military awards) and to have a way to fill in the information so that it will input the data into the correct blocks but can also stretch out the text box as it types.  I've seen how some can make forms where you can add lines to the end, but is there any way to make the information go into the "middle" of the text instead of at the end.

If that is not making sense, if anyone has ever used something like NAVFIT98, I'm trying to do the exact reverse of that.  NAVFIT98 has a form that you fill out and then converts the saved data into a micosoft access database file, but NAVFIT98 can still open it and correctly reassemble it again.  I am trying to figure out how to go from a prefilled form and be able to essentially enter all my data in the manner of the database and have it show up correctly in livecycle.

I've been reading and searching and haven't been able to find anything yet and am trying to see if this is even possible.

Thanks in advance.

18 Replies

Level 10

In LiveCycle, you can insert a floating field into a text object to display different types of information at run time.

Place a Text field on the form and add some static text to it. Place the cursor inside the Text field and select insert menu -> Floating Field. This will place a Floating field inside the Text field. This way you can have the Floating fields at beginning, middle or end (OR) anywhere in the Text Field.

You can get more help in LiveCycle Designer on how to place the Floating Fields.

Hope this can help..

Thanks

Srini

Level 2