Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.

Javascript For loop not working within a function

Level 2

Hi all,

I'm a beginner to LiveCycle and I cant seem to get a loop working within a function.  The function is being called successfully because when I manually create the code it works but I am trying to clean things up.

So here is my working example:

function hideContent() {

MainFlowedSub.LevelsSub.Table1.presence = "hidden";

MainFlowedSub.LevelsSub.Table2.presence = "hidden";

... and so on....

MainFlowedSub.LevelsSub.Table8.Row1.presence = "hidden";

MainFlowedSub.LevelsSub.Table8.Row2.presence = "hidden";

... and so on....

}

However when I try and creat a loop instead of listing every sing table/row nothing happens. this is important to my project as there will be alot of different rows depending on radio button selections earlier in the form.  Below is the current state of my code:

function hideContent() {

var i=0;
     for (i=1;i<=5;i++)
     {
         MainFlowedSub.LevelsSub.Table[i].presence = "hidden";
     }

var j=0;
     for (j=1;j<=23;j++)
     {
         MainFlowedSub.LevelsSub.Table8.Row[j].presence = "hidden";
     }

var k=0;
     for (k=24;k<=88;k++)
     {
         MainFlowedSub.LevelsSub.Table8.Row[k].presence = "hidden";
     }

;

this will then continue as there will be hundreds of rows.

Any help will be greatly appreciated and I am sure I am making a basic error  so thanks in advance.

j

8 Replies

Former Community Member

You cannot use square brackets in javascript as it thinks you are referring to an array. So you have to use a different notation

xfa.resolveNode("string that references the object")

So in your case the reference woudl be:

xfa.resolveNode("MainFlowedSub.LevelsSub.Table[" + i + "]").presence = "hidden"