Expand my Community achievements bar.

Learn about Edge Delivery Services in upcoming GEM session

'Inserting' text into a Text Field on event trigger in a static form

Level 2

Sorry if this seems like a silly question, but I've been struggling with it for a bit and I'm new to Adobe/JavaScript.

I am building a static form (it must be static), and I want to have text appear/disapear based on an event trigger (mouseclick). I tried creating a floating text object inside of a static text object, but I'm not sure how I can make the string value for this change based on the event trigger. The only advice in the Adobe help was purely regarding FormCalc, which I can't use as this must be a static form. I tried using this code in the <script>, but it obviously didn't work as it was written from FormCalc code versus JaveScript;

TextField.rawvalue = variable.value;

What do you suggest in terms of being able to script this, so my static form will work? Thanks a billion if you can help!

PS: I'm using Adobe 9, LiveCycle ES 8.2

PPS: Also tried inserting the following into my trigger script;

xfa.resolveNode("form1.subform.TestField").rawValue= "Please Work";
                    xfa.layout.relayout("form1.subform.TestField");

It also did not work.

6 Replies

Level 5

Hi,

Exactly where is your script, you say "mouse click" but on which object is this set.

from your text I assume you are changing the value in the TextField box, not the caption, is that correct?

Regards

Malcolm

Level 2

It is set on a button field. See below.

I am trying to change the TextField. Thanks for any advice.

Level 5

Hi,

If the button and the textfield are on in the same subform then this code should work in the click event of the button

(This is JavaScript code so make sure the code is set to JavaScript and Client on the drop downs in the script window)

(assuming the name of the textfield is TextField1)

TextField1.rawValue = "some value";