Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.
SOLVED

Auto populate text field

Level 2

Hi

I am making a form in live cycle designer. I have text field named "ID" another two fields are named as "Name" and "Dept".

I am trying to do, If a person enter his/her ID no. in "ID" field, automatically that person's name and department will be populated in respective field.

As I have very little knowledge in livecycle, any help from the community would be great.

Thanks

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 7

Hi

There are a few ways you could achieve this.

The simplest is just hard coding it into the ID Exit event using a switch or if statement. When you have a new ID though, you would have to update the form.

Example using switch on ID exit event Javascript

//clear these fields first. If the logic condition is not met, these fields will then be blank.
Name.rawValue = null;
Dept.rawValue = null;

switch(this.rawValue)
{
case "1":
Name.rawValue = "Duncan";
Dept.rawValue = "R & D";
break;

case "2":
Name.rawValue = "Ron";
Dept.rawValue = "Firmware";
break;

default:
//enter code here to execute if the above conditions are not met.
xfa.host.messageBox("ID Not Found!");
break;
}

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This could also be achieved by connecting a database but i can't help you there.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You can, however, have an in form database of sorts. I have done this in the past.

I have hidden text fields to 'store' the details i want to refer to.