Expand my Community achievements bar.

Textfield Similar to Google Search Toolbar - Text Hides/Appears Upon Entry/Exit

Former Community Member
I am trying to get an object [text field, numeric field] to behave in a similar manner to that of the Google search toolbox that is embedded in Firefox or Safari.

When the form opens, I want it to display text in the field to describe the kind of data that should be entered into it [name, address, etc.]. When the client selects the field, I want the text to disappear immediately so that the field becomes blank. If the client chooses to enter characters or numbers into the field, the original text will be replaced by this new text. If the client chooses to leave the field without entering anything, the original text will reappear.

I am new to LiveCycle and appreciate any help you can give me. My knowledge of javascript is basic, mostly cut-and-paste. If someone can create an example that has one text field that behaves in this manner, I think I should be set. Any notes or explanation on how it works and why script goes into certain events is also great. I'm really enjoying learning how to use this program, although I think I'm losing some hair over it!
7 Replies

Former Community Member
Zugzwang,

This should be relatively easy to do.

In your text or numeric object:

1. Open the Object palette and then the Value Tab. In the Default field enter your instructions as to what you want the client to enter in the object.

2. In the enter event of the object place the follwing javascript:

this.rawValue = "";

3. In the exit event of the same object place the following javascript:

if (this.rawValue == null) {

this.rawValue = "Text";

}

The "Text" would be the same text you entered in the Default field in the Value Tab.

Rick Kuhlmann

Tech-Pro

Former Community Member
Amazing! Thank you for the quick response!