Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

What is a simple way to track Page Load Time with Launch?

Level 1

Hi everyone,

I have worked with many tag management systems but I am new to Launch.

I am trying to capture the best approximation to page load time into an eVar and a numeric event. I have tried some traditional ways of solving it that have worked in other environments. However I am having a hard time to get it to work in Launch.

For example:

a) I am trying to capture a timestamp on "Library Loaded (Page Top)". I am using a Custom Code action step on the same rule that sends the page view beacon:

launchDataLayer.pageLoadStart = Date.now();

b) Then I am capturing another time stamp on "Window Loaded". Once again I am using a custom code on a separate rule firing on Window Loaded.

I am also storing the calculated value in the dataLayer objcet

launchDataLayer.pageLoadEnd = Date.now();

launchDataLayer.pageLoadTime = launchDataLayer.pageLoadEnd - launchDataLayer.pageLoadStart;

c) However when I try to read this value when setting the variables before sending the beacon, it doesn't have any value.

I am pretty sure I am missing something. What am I doing wrong? Is there a better and simple what to accomplish this with Launch?

Thank you in advance for your help!

Jose

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 4

You may not be getting any data collected to your variables because of the timing that data elements are evaluated for SetVars.

Based on what you said here:

Adobe launch handles Data Elements in a very specific manner when they are referenced in the GUI (like a setVars action block or within the analytics extension 'Global Varables' section).  So let's imagine the following scenario:

MyPage Rule
- Trigger: PageTop

- Actions:
- - Custom Code Action Block (gets a timestamp value and puts it in the dataLayer)

- - Analytics SetVars Action Block (sets eVar1 = %DataElementGetTimeFromDataLayer%)

- - Analytics Send Beacon Action Block