Expand my Community achievements bar.

Join us for the next Community Q&A Coffee Break on Tuesday April 23, 2024 with Eric Matisoff, Principal Evangelist, Analytics & Data Science, who will join us to discuss all the big news and announcements from Summit 2024!
SOLVED

What is preferrable: Client-side or Server-side implementation

Level 3

Hello,

I'm not a developer myself so I'm not intimate to server vs. client side implications, but I am in charge of designing technical specs for our implementation. I recently found this article from a previous discussion posted on the board: https://marketing.adobe.com/developer/documentation/data-insertion/c-limitations  I have a couple of questions after reading this:

1. This first is a question one of my tech leads always asks me, is it preferable to implement server-side or client-side? what is the best practice? I'm seeing that our developers opt to implement server-side when possible, but it seems like that comes with a high degree of difficulty given the back and forth we always go into when implementing.
  2. We don't use a tag managment system yet but are thinking about implementing DTM. Does sever vs client side implementation affect in any way how to implement DTM? Again, what is the preferred way to do it?

Thanks!

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 1

1. Client-side implementation is standard and allow for enhanced out-of-box functionality (e.g., data on browsers/user agents, operating systems, screen resolutions, device types). In theory, it's possible to replicate this functionality in a server-side implementation, but at that point you're recreating the wheel and might as well build your own analytics solution.