Expand my Community achievements bar.

Join us at Adobe Summit 2024 for the Coffee Break Q&A Live series, a unique opportunity to network with and learn from expert users, the Adobe product team, and Adobe partners in a small group, 30 minute AMA conversations.
SOLVED

Tracking visitor from app to webview

Level 4

Dear Community,

I have a hybrid app, that generate webviews at some points (for cart view and checkout for example).

At the moment, I'm getting 2 differents visits. Once the visitor is landing on the webview, Adobe is generating a new MID instead of keeping the same that has been generated during the app view session.

I didn't do the implementation myself. A dev team did it. I know that they followed this documentation, as I'm not a developer, I'm wondering how I can check that the implementation has been done correctly. 

From what I understand the dev team that worked on this subject, didn't use Experience Cloud visitor ID as I don't see the extension installed in launch.

I also saw this documentation: 

- iOS part

- Android part

I also know that we have only one report suite for everything Desktop version, Android App, iOS App. Do we absolutely need to get different report suites? 

I hope that I shared all the needed information to help you understand the situation.

My main question is:
How can I track visitors from app view through webview without generating 2 differents ID / visits?

Thanks a lot for your help.

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Employee Advisor

@Swanan_ The Android SDK generates a unique visitor ID when an app is installed. This ID is stored in persistent memory on the mobile device, is sent with every hit, and is removed only when the user uninstalls the app.