Expand my Community achievements bar.

Segment sharing when working with virtual reporting suites

Level 2

Hi,

Maybe something obvious but I'm fairly new to Adobe Analytics. I'm facing the following issue with segment sharing:

• For a project, we have set-up a global reporting suite that measures all "national" sites for a brand.
  • For each national site, we have created a virtual reporting suites for users of each national entity.
  • Local users do not have access to the global reporting suite..
  • As a central team, we would like to create general segments that local users can also apply at their own level (e.g. users who viewed product A, users who completed a lead form).
  • If I create a segment based on the global reporting suite (as a source) and then share it with the local users - they can't use it. They will get an error message because the segment is linked to global reporting suite while users only have access to their "local" virtual reporting suite.
    MichaelNotte_1-1697550339103.png

• It seems not possible to switch source (like for project templates)

So my question is how to achieve that? I.e. being able to create and share segments created with a global reporting suite to users who have only access virtual reporting suites?

(other than granting access to all users to the global RS or to create the segment for each VRS :))

Thank you inadvance. 

Topics

Topics help categorize Community content and increase your ability to discover relevant content.

3 Replies

Community Advisor

Unfortunately, the permissions are as you surmised.. 

If the Segment is created at the global suite level, then the permissions are explicitly connected with that suite... at least right now...

You will have to make the decision to either grant users access to the main global suite, or creating copies of the segments for each Virtual Suite.... 

I logged an Idea for improving Component Behaviours / Sharing.....