Expand my Community achievements bar.

The next phase for Workfront Community ideas is coming soon. Learn all about it in our blog!

Resource Scheduling

Level 1
Hello all. My name is Trae Brown and I work at GM Financial. I'm a Marketing Project Manager and my team is starting to look at Resource Scheduling and I'm curious to see how other teams are using this tool. Any feedback or comments would be appreciated. Thanks.
12 Replies

Level 10
Hi Trae: We use it to answer a number of questions: 1. What are our people working on? 2. How much planned work are they really doing? 3. What isn’t getting done? I’ve got lots of fun stuff to read on WorkFront Resource Planning - send me an email (eric.lucas@crowley.com< ) and I’ll send you some PowerPoint decks. Bottom line - you’re going to get real good at cleaning up project plans ☺ Thanks, Eric

Level 1
Thanks Eric. I will send you my email. Also, another question I meant to ask, who are the Resource Managers in the different type of organizations?

Level 10
Hi: Marketing organizations usually structure themselves differently than non-Marketing groups. Where I work, um, I’m the resource manager in WorkFront. I’m responsible for looking at what people are assigned to, over- and under- allocation, capacity planning and all that. We are organized rather vertically, so most people working on a project report up through the org running the project. We don’t have too much problem assigning people to projects - we know who they are by virtue of knowing what organization they are in. I monitor and report status of resource allocations, coach PMs to stop over allocating people, and help people sort out levelling the demand. Thanks, Eric

Level 3