Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

Need advice on Workfront boards - which one do I use?

Level 2

Hello!

I have been asked to look into creating boards in Workfront but as I'm fairly new to the application, I'm not sure which type of board is best. I am seeking guidance on how to set up a board to ensure it supports our current workflow.

We use a scrum task board outside of Workfront to manage developer work in 2-week sprints; however, work is initiated within Workfront by project managers and we (the non-developer side of the web team) are assigned tasks. Tracking and viewing our tasks can be cumbersome to sort through as our tasks are usually a small part of a larger project. We are interested in seeing if boards are a good solution for us to track our assigned tasks within Workfront.

The biggest gray area for me is which board do I use? I have experimented with both Kanban and Dynamic boards and not sure which one is better suited for our needs. We would need intake of existing Workfront tasks, and I don't believe we need to establish iterations as we handle scrum outside of Workfront. Ultimately, we need to track when tasks are:
1) Ready to be worked on
2) In progress
3) Blocked/On-hold
4) Complete

I visualize a steady flow of cards moving across the board at any given time, and if needed, using tags to track sprint iteration.

Can I get some advice? Thanks in advance!

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 10

I think from your description you may want to use the standard Kanban board, It has a built-in intake column which you can filter for the projects you want intake from. You can tag and sort, filter, etc. by tags, assignees, projects, statuses, due dates, etc. I think it's the most flexible for your situation.

You may want to try it with just a few simple projects at first until you get the hang of it.