Expand my Community achievements bar.

The Community Advisors application is now OPEN for the second class of 2024. Apply to become a part of this exclusive program!

Custom Tabs Visibility for all Users

Community Advisor
As an Admin, I'm about to deploy new layout templates for most of my users. I know that when you change a layout template you lose all of your personal custom tabs and was wondering is there a way to create a report that pulls if a user has custom tabs and if so, what page/dashboards are on each? I'm trying to avoid mass panic of "my report I use every day is no longer here;" but I also do not want to have to log in as 400 people and create a spreadsheet to learn this information. Also, there is no way all of my users would actually listen to me if I say, "take a screenshot of your Projects, Requests, and Reporting tabs" Any suggestions would be most welcomed! Monique Evans Stanley Black & Decker, Inc.
3 Replies

Level 10
That's a tough one, Monique, I took a look at the API explorer and the API, but was unable to deduce where the Custom Tab information is stored (let alone how to report on it), and also suspect that where ever "it" is, the New Experience Layout Templates will also be different. Barring a gem from Workfront Dev pointing you in the right direction, my suggestion would be to control the explosion: pick a Layout Template to upgrade run a report of those who use it email those user to schedule the upgrade, explain (with pictures) what will happen to any personalized custom tabs they've created give them some time to take their own inventory and/or provide a solid reason to defer the upgrade (e.g. 2 days?) perform the upgrade give them some time to report any oh-dang-that-DID-affect-me situations (e.g. 1 day?) rinse and repeat for each of the other Layout Templates, adjusting your affected audience size and warning/aftermath timing as need be Regards, Doug Doug Den Hoed - AtAppStore

Community Advisor