It would be great if a user's access level was preserved/stored when they are deactivated.
Currently when a user is deactivated, their access level is removed. If that user is reactivated (via checkbox), they are not granted any access level, which basically leaves the user as deactivated for all intents and purposes.
It would be useful if, when a user was deactivated, it "removed" their access level but stored it in a variable, field, or database so that when the user was reactivated, they automatically reobtain their old access level.
This would remedy the problem of having activated users without an access level, but also I have also encountered situations where a user was deactivated which removed their access level, but there was no record of their previous access level on the System Updates section of the User profile. This prevented me from knowing what Access Level the user should have when I later reactivated them.