When a user is deactivated, they should be removed everywhere. I keep finding little easter eggs of old users and can't even begin to find all the places they need to be removed.
Examples, assignments on templates, sharing on projects created from templates, custom views sharing. The only thing that should remain, is a history of what they did. They should not still have views and such shared with them or newly created projects shared/assigned.