Expand my Community achievements bar.

Radically easy to access on brand approved content for distribution and omnichannel performant delivery. AEM Assets Content Hub and Dynamic Media with OpenAPI capabilities is now GA.

XML assistance with drop downs

Level 1

Hello All,

I'm pretty new to creating forms in LiveCycle, and just started dabbling with the XML side.  What I am trying to accomplish is populating  a drop-down list based on the selection from a prior drop-down list.

I found a document in the help files that describes exactly what I want to do using the following xml:

<country/>
      <countries>
          <item uiname="United States" token="US"/>
          <item uiname="Vietnam" token="SRV"/>
     </countries>
     <state/>
     <US>
          <item>California</item>
          <item>New York</item>
          <item>Texas</item>
     </US>
     <SRV>
          <item>An Giang</item>
          <item>Bac Giang</item>
          <item>Bac Kan</item>
     </SRV>

I understand the xml above and how to create my lists based on it, I just don't know where I put it.  Does this go directly into the XML Source in LiveCycle, or do I have to create my own .xml file?  If it is the latter, is there any additinal formatting that needs to go into the .xml file, such as versioning and encoding, etc?

Also, how do I get this into my PDF once the file is created if it is a .xml file.

Thanks,

Zak
3 Replies

Former Community Member