Expand my Community achievements bar.

Subform functionality

Level 2

One of the questions in my form requires a Yes or No answer (Radio Buttons), if they click Yes the user is asked to fill out additional information (Name, Address, etc.) which I have in a Subform.  They have asked me if it is possible to have the Subform visible only if they use the Yes button.

FYI, I am not a programmer and have no idea how to write "language" to make this happen (if that is what the answer is). :-)  The version I work in is LiveCycle Designer ES 8.2.

I am very new to this application, have had no formal training so just kind of winging my way through - any help is greatly appreciated!

9 Replies

Former Community Member

Yes it is possible and yes it will require script. Do you want to do modify the form yourself or are do you want a sample that you can follow?

Paul

Level 10

Hi,

It is possible, but will require a little script.

LC Designer ES2 does have an Action Builder under the Tools menu, but I can't remember if it was in LV Designer v8.2. Action Builder would make it a little easier to get this working, as you would set out what you want in plain English and LC Designer would build the script for you.

Okay, first there is an example here that shows how to access and change the ".presence" property. This is what you need to work with when make something visible/invisible.

http://assure.ly/h7whb8

There are a couple of options:

1. You can set the subform's presence to "visible" - does what it says on the tin - the user can see the subform.
  2. You can set it to "invisible" - here the user can't see the subform, but it still takes up space on the form (this is important if the container is set to Flowed).
  3. You can also set it to "hidden". This is like invisible, as the user can't see the subform. But in addition the subform does not take up space and the rest of the object beneath can move up to take its place (in a Flowed layout).