Expand my Community achievements bar.

Guidelines for the Responsible Use of Generative AI in the Experience Cloud Community.
SOLVED

Populate cc field based on dropdown list values

Level 2

I know this question has been posted before, but I'm very new at this, and the answers I've found so far are over my head.

I'm trying to create a submit button that will not only e-mail to a specific address, but also carbon copy someone when their name is selected in a drop-down list on the form.

I don't know much about javascript - and that seems to be the way to get this done - but I don't know the syntax or where to enter the JS to get this functionality. The field I am using is called 'Supervisor1', and I've assigned values (e-mail addresses) to each of the names in the drop-down.

Can someone help me get this done?

Thanks in advance!

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 10

Hi,

if you are a scripting newbie, you might think this macro useful.

It can add a mail script to a regular button.

http://thelivecycle.blogspot.de/2012/05/mailto-maker-marco-v1.html

View solution in original post

7 Replies

Correct answer by
Level 10

Hi,

if you are a scripting newbie, you might think this macro useful.

It can add a mail script to a regular button.

http://thelivecycle.blogspot.de/2012/05/mailto-maker-marco-v1.html

Level 2

Thank you for your response... When I try to enter this, it highlights the row with the click event in red... And in the list of events, when I click mouseDown, it has the click event included with it, not as its own.

What am I doing wrong? 

Edit: I got the click event to show in the script editor, by changing the button control type to 'regular'... I added the JS, but now the button does nothing when clicked. Again, I ask: what am I doing wrong here?

Edit2: Nevermind, your answer works perfectly... I was just referencing the wrong place in the hierarchy for where the drop-down list sits.

Thanks for your help!

Level 2