Expand my Community achievements bar.

No "presence" Attribute for Master Pages or Content Areas?

Level 2

Is it true that there isn't a .presence attribute for master pages and content areas?  I have a form with multiple master pages, and based on certain criteria, I'd like to not display the master page.

This master page has 1 content areas.  One is a header area.  The rest of the page is content area 2.  It is blank.  I have a conditional breakpoint that sends line items from a table to content area 2 if I have more than 7 line items.

If I have 7 or fewer line items, I'd like to hide this master page, but LiveCycle doesn't seem to think you should ever hide an entire master page.  If I could hide the top content area, then at least the page would print blank.

I can't wrap content areas in subforms.  If I could do that, then I could hide the subform.

Thanks!!

3 Replies

Level 7

It sounds like maybe you're approaching this the wrong way. Without a master page to serve as a canvas, you have nothing to paint your form on so it makes sense that Designer wouldn't allow you to change the presence. If I understand what you're trying to do correctly, it sounds like you'd be better off to place your content on a page in design view and simply hide or show them there as necessary. Changing the presence to hidden on these fields would leave white space on the form unless you make the form dynamic, but you said you can't wrap the content areas. Could you explain why? Also, even though you can't change the presence on a master page, you should still be able to just turn off the Restrict Page Occurrence check box. Once you turn it off, the master page won't print unless it has content on it.

Level 2

My problem is I have page 1 with fields in the header, then there are line items attached to a database table.  There could be 1 line item or 200.  I can print up to 7 line items on the first page and then a footer must appear on just page 1.