Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

Newbie help needed. Looking to circle options on a form.

Level 2

Hey Guys,

I'm a total beginner at this, but we've been mapping out forms and I need to know how to be able to "circle" different options on a form.

I think the best way to do this is to have a button which makes a circle object visible or hidden.  Currently I've figured out how to set an object as hidden and make it appear on button click, but not make it go back to hidden if the button is clicked again.  Many times its just a yes/no type case, but sometimes there are cases where I have multiple options where only one can be selected and I would like to be able to click and circle the appropriate type.

An example:

How many cylinders does your vehicle have:

4     6     8

and I would like to make it so if you click the 4 it will circle the 4 and make sure the 6 and 8 are not circled.

Any help would be appreciated.

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Former Community Member

You can use a control variable to make this button a toggle.

For instance, use a variable like circleVisible = 0 and make circleVisible = 1 when the button is clicked and the circle is visible.

So you would have something like this, when button is clicked:

if (cicleVisible == 0) {

<make circle visible>

circleVisible = 1

} else {

<make circle invisible>

circleVisible = 0

}

Got it?  :)

View solution in original post

3 Replies

Correct answer by
Former Community Member

You can use a control variable to make this button a toggle.

For instance, use a variable like circleVisible = 0 and make circleVisible = 1 when the button is clicked and the circle is visible.

So you would have something like this, when button is clicked:

if (cicleVisible == 0) {

<make circle visible>

circleVisible = 1

} else {

<make circle invisible>

circleVisible = 0

}

Got it?  :)

Level 2

Thanks a lot!

That works great.

Level 2

How about this case: