Expand my Community achievements bar.

Javascript: if statements with multiple conditions

Level 1

Hello,

I am a javascript novice looking to write code that is somewhat over my head.  I have some understanding of if, else statements - and not much else.

My form is organized similar to this with radiobuttons:

1: Yes/No    A: t,u,v

2: Yes/No    B: w,x,y

3: Yes/No

I have been able to script so that if 1 is yes, A is visible.  Then choosing A=t, one row of a table appears; u, two rows; etc.  2 is similar, and 3 is just a yes/no to visualize some other fields, with no additional radiobuttons.

I also wanted to add a check box to view the entire form if checked.  But when unchecked, I also want the fields to continue to show up as dictated by the selections for 1, 2, 3, A, and B.

If this is possible, I need help organizing the if/else statements so that the javascript will run.  My thoughts was to do:

If viewall checkbox ==checked, all visible

else{

if (1 == Yes) {

if (A == null) { fields=visible/invisible}   

if (A == t) { fields=visible/invisible}

if (A == u) {fields=visible/invisible}

}

if (2 == Yes) {

if (B == null) {fields=visible/invisible}

if (B == w) {fields=visible/invisible}

}

if (3 == Yes) {fields=visible/invisible}

}

else{

if (1 == No) {fields=visible/invisible}

if (2 == No) {fields=visible/invisible}

if (3 == No) {fields=visible/invisible}

}

else{

If (viewall checkbox == unchecked) {all invisible}

}

I must either have problems with my logic or have syntax issues because the code will not execute.  But if this works, then I believe I will also will run into the problem of executing commands for all of the different scenarios, ie if 1 is yes, 2 is yes, but 3 is no.  So I need some help on how to set up this script, and any other issues I may not recognize.

Let me know if you need any additional information.  Thanks for your help.

Thanks,

Kevin

6 Replies

Level 5

Hi,