Expand my Community achievements bar.

Radically easy to access on brand approved content for distribution and omnichannel performant delivery. AEM Assets Content Hub and Dynamic Media with OpenAPI capabilities is now GA.

How do it force a user to enter a time in a date time field??

Level 3

I am new to live cycle, not to acrobat pro. I must say live cycle is pretty cool and i may just switch to live cycle forever...

But i can not figure this out. I have a HR form. I need to make the time of occurence field, required, validate and wont let you move on until you enter a time.

Right now it functions as required, it shows a custom message, but the user can enter garbage text and skip through. How do i set up this field where the user can only enter a time and not skip through??

I am sure this is rather easy, i just dont know where to start.. Thanks in Advance

6 Replies

Former Community Member

If you make it a Date and Time field a calendar will popup and the user picks the date from the calendar. They cannot enter garbage. If you make the field mandatory they will not be able to submit the form until the field is filled out. If that is not enough and you want to force the entry when they tab into the field, you coudl write script on the exit event that will not allow them to get off of the field until they complete it.

Make sense?

Paul

Level 3

Hi Paul:

That completely makes sense... Only problem what would or could the javascript be??

I have already inserted some for the save as and print buttons sucessfully

BTW in my form the time/date field is selected and to format to show time only. In my other date fields is does show a calendar after you hit the little arrow and the user can still insert garbage.

What i would ultimately want is for the user not to insert garbage and forcing them to insert a time in the time field.

It is possible that i forgot or missed a step being as im new to Live Cycle.

Former Community Member