Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.

How do I increment a counter in a sub-form?

Level 2

I have a subform that contains a field named Service_Location.  I want the value to default to 1, and increment by 1 each time I add a new instance of the subform using Designer ES-4.  I am a newbie to Designer, and do not "speak" Java.

Suggestions?

25 Replies

Former Community Member

Hi Anokie1,

In your field Service_Location, go into the Object->Value tab, next to Default: write 1.

Then after your code that adds new instance, write this :

Service_Location.rawValue = Service_Location.rawValue + 1  (make sure formcalc is selected as the language)

If you want to make sure your have the right cell, when you are in the event editor, you can hold ctrl and click on your Service_Location cell, this way you make sure there will be no mistake. After clicking on it, the complete path will be written you simply have to add .rawValue and the rest of the instruction.

Level 2

MTremblay-Savard,

Thank you for your response.  I just have two questions.

When you said, "

Then after your code that adds new instance, write this :

Service_Location.rawValue = Service_Location.rawValue + 1  (make sure formcalc is selected as the language)," 

1. how do I select formcalc as the language?
  2. am I looking at the XML source code?

I used the Action Builder tool to create all this.  I don't know where in the code to insert your statement.

Michael

Former Community Member

1st : You can open the script editor palette by going in the top menu, clicking on Palettes -> Script Editor (CTRL + SHIFT + F5), when the script editor is opened, on the top right, you have a language dropdown menu, select Formcalc.
language.png

2nd : You don't need to look at the XML source code.