Expand my Community achievements bar.

Help with Scripting

Level 4

Greetings, XFA scripters.

How do I get started with XFA scripting?  Every JavaScript book I have looked at applies to web scripting. Where did you XFA scripters learn your JavaScript?

I am the self-taught type, so please don't recommend classes.  I'm just looking for resources to learn XFA scripting.  Thank you.

Paul - are you there?

7 Replies

Level 10

Hi,

I know where you are coming from. I am not a coder and have picked by way through this for three years. What we have learnt is that there are significant differences between "core" Javascript; Acrobat (Acroform) Javascript; and LC Designer Javascript. We tend to stick with Javascript unless we are dealing with dates or time, for which we revert to Formcalc. For what its worth here are my top tips:

1. Forums: great to ask a question and get feedback. We work alone with LC so don't have the opertunity to stick out heads over the partition to ask a question. Forums provide that for us!
  2. Check out Acrobat User Groups in your area.
  3. JP Terry's book "Adobe LiveCycle Designer" is great. It is laid out well and has great examples.
  4. www.pdfscripting.com This is a paid service, but is a great resource. While a lot of the script is orientated to Javascript for Acrobat (Acroforms) it is adaptable to LC Designer.
  5. Thom Parker recommended "Javascript the Definitive Guide" by David Flanagan. I must admit we are still working through this. However it is the FIRST Javascript book that we have come across that deals with "core" Javascript as a language. We had the same problem, that books in stores only appeared to deal with web sites. This book goes into the basics (to a deep, deep, deep level), but we have foundered when trying to implement some "core" Javescript solutions back into LC.  Forums to the rescue!!!!